Treatment is Simple, Pagliacci is in Town Tonight

Man goes to doctor. Says he’s depressed. Says life seems harsh and cruel. Says he feels all alone in a threatening world where what lies ahead is vague and uncertain. Doctor says, “Treatment is simple. Great clown, Pagliacci, is in town tonight. Go and see him. That should pick you up.” Man bursts into tears. Says, “But doctor, I am Pagliacci.”

This line is from the comic Watchmen that really got to me.

I believe that most people that I know would describe me as funny, confident, with a short fuse from time to time and very good at his work. People come to me for advice regarding work and other things.

People don’t know the amount of… of… of black that I have in my stomach from time to time. That most of the time what they perceive as anger is really anxiousness, is really a terrible feeling that things are falling apart and I’m trying to prevent it.

People don’t know that behind the smile and confidence sometime I want to burst into tears.

I can understand Pagliacci completely.

2 thoughts on “Treatment is Simple, Pagliacci is in Town Tonight

  1. This is a wonderful post with a compelling image that captures the spirit of it so well! I hear you about Pagliacci: “Send In The Clowns.” Personally, I have recognized that sometimes I get depressed when really I am angry and instead, I should just express what has made me mad, appropriately. Since much of what makes me mad is current events, or unavoidable challenges of being a grown-up, I started my blog. Because I haven’t been able to find my own personal “anger translator” a la Key and Peele.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

